Almost Famous

The Avenues to Success

Quality Hip-Hop, Quality Journalism

pen-factory The year is 2009 and I am just a blink away from completing my undergraduate career in a hope to become a journalist. I won’t sit here and tell you I’ve wanted to be a journalist my entire life, in fact, the last thing I ever wanted to pick up was a newspaper until my freshman year in college. I was a satisfied, uncurious American who paid little or no attention to the rest of the world, until I discovered writing. My story doesn’t start with a love for CNN, it starts with a love for hip-hop. I was an extremely, white, suburban (and I still am) hip-hop fan who became obsessed with hip-hop probably all throughout high school and continued into college.

After hours upon hours of nodding my head to the music, memorizing the lyrics, and have them ringing through my head the rest of the day at school, I was captivated by how much emotion an artist could put into a single hip-hop song. Now I’m not talking about that radio-stuff, I’m talking about the rest of hip-hop that goes relatively unnoticed. I felt as though something inside of these artists gave them a talent and skill to reach a mass number of people through captivating, sometimes unbelievable lyrics. There was a socially conscious aspect to many of these artists and I was determined to find out what made them tick. They were the voice for the voiceless, even role models for my generation.

I started to go back in time, before my generation, and look at how hip-hop evolved. What I discovered was hip-hop so much more than music, it was an entire culture. Hip-hop was personal expression in its purest and probably most attractive form. In response, I began to create my own hip-hop, scribbling in notepads, in and out of school, sometimes instrumentals blaring in the background. I never recorded any of it, I mean I would have probably sounded horrible, but people began to take notice. What happened without my knowing was I became much more conscious of the world around me. I began to operate in a worldly state of mind and that meant paying more attention to the news. My poetry and hip-hop became a zone where I could create the world around me from my point of view and people would pay attention because it was in an art form people were already accustomed to.

This is quality journalism and this is where I’m at today. Should they start spinning records on CNN? Why not, but think of hip-hop, in some respects, as a gateway to personal expression and in that expression hip-hop artists are able to educate and inform people. This is where I felt a calling and this is where I am today. My duty as a journalist is to educate my audience in the most pure, unbiased form possible. We utilize our five senses to give you the most accurate story and bring the world home to you. Before every journalistic piece I write, out of habit and perhaps nostalgia, I turn on my favorite hip-hop song and it inspires me. Even though I retired my hip-hop career, that same mindset still adds to my journalistic vision, and more importantly, I might actually make some money because Eminem and Vanilla Ice already came and left. Quality journalism is forever and as we proceed to give you what you need, we won’t stop, because we can’t stop.

Real talk.

February 12, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

